Machine Head: The More Things Change... (1997) album cover

The More Things Change… by Machine Head, released on March 25, 1997, via Roadrunner Records, blends groove and thrash metal. Notable tracks like “Ten Ton Hammer” showcase themes of societal critique and personal struggle.

Rammstein: Sehnsucht (1997) album cover

Rammstein’s 1997 album Sehnsucht is a defining work of Neue Deutsche Härte (NDH), featuring German lyrics exploring themes of longing, desire, and aggression. A commercial success, it propelled the band to international fame.

Deicide: Serpents of the Light (1997) album cover

Released in 1997 by Roadrunner Records, Deicide’s Serpents of the Light is a death metal album featuring tracks like “Serpents of the Light” and “Bastard of Christ.” The album is noted for its aggressive riffs and blasphemous themes.

Napalm Death: Inside the Torn Apart (1997) album cover

Napalm Death’s “Inside the Torn Apart” (1997) is a departure from their typical grindcore sound,
featuring slower tempos and industrial influences. The album explores introspective and existential themes, deviating from the band’s usual political commentary.

Emperor: Anthems to the Welkin at Dusk (1997) album cover

Emperor’s second studio album,
“Anthems to the Welkin at Dusk (1997), is a defining work in symphonic black metal, notable for its dynamic shifts between aggression and atmosphere.