Carcass: Torn Arteries (2021)

Carcass’s seventh studio album, “Torn Arteries” (2021), sees the band in peak technical form. Guitarist Bill Steer’s intricate riffs and blistering solos drive the album, showcasing his mastery of the death metal genre. Bassist/vocalist Jeff Walker’s signature snarls and morbid lyrical fixations are present as ever, while drummer Daniel Wilding provides a relentless backbone to the sonic onslaught.

Track Listing

  1. Torn Arteries
  2. Dance of Ixtab (Psychopomp & Circumstance March No. 1 in B)
  3. Eleanor Rigor Mortis
  4. Under the Scalpel Blade
  5. The Devil Rides Out
  6. Flesh Ripping Sonic Torment Limited
  7. Kelly’s Meat Emporium
  8. In God We Trust
  9. Wake Up and Smell the Carcass / Caveat Emptor
  10. The Scythe’s Remorseless Swing

Length: 48:58


Death metal, melodic death metal

Release Date

September 17th, 2021

Record Label

Nuclear Blast Records

The Lineup for the Album

  • Jeff Walker: bass, lead vocals
  • Bill Steer: guitars, backing vocals
  • Daniel Wilding: drums, additional vocals

Recording Date

November 2018 – August 2019

Recording Studio

Ghost Ward (Stockholm, Sweden) and The Stationhouse (Leeds, United Kingdom)

Produced by


Album Themes/Concept

Mortality: Many of the songs focus on death, decay, and the grotesque finality of existence.

Dark Humor & Medical Gore: Carcass continues their tradition of morbidly humorous lyrics filled with anatomical references and over-the-top descriptions of bodily distress.

Social Commentary (to a limited degree): Some songs touch on topics like consumerism and blind faith, providing hints of social critique.

Album Mood

Ferocious: The album has a relentless energy, with many songs driven by fast tempos, aggressive drumming, and Bill Steer’s signature ripping guitar solos.

Morbidly Humorous: The lyrics, while focused on gruesome imagery, maintain a darkly comedic tone that’s been a Carcass trademark. It’s over-the-top and designed to elicit a twisted grin.

Slightly Melancholic: Underneath the aggression and gore, some songs carry a hint of melancholy, often in the slower parts or melodic riffs. It’s subtle, but adds a tinge of reflectiveness.

Album Trivia

Extended Hiatus: “Torn Arteries” arrived after a significant break for the band. Their previous full-length studio album, “Surgical Steel”, was released all the way back in 2013. This created heightened anticipation for the album.

Delayed Release Due to the Pandemic: Originally scheduled for release in 2020, the album’s launch was postponed to 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. During this waiting period, Carcass released the Despicable EP in October 2020, serving as a teaser to Torn Arteries.

Listen or Pass

This album might be for you if you…

  • Enjoy classic Carcass: If you love earlier Carcass albums like “Necroticism” or “Heartwork”, you’ll likely enjoy the blend of blistering death metal and twisted medical humor that “Torn Arteries” delivers.
  • Appreciate technical death metal: Bill Steer’s guitar work is intricate and impressive. Fans of bands like Death,Necrophagist, or Obscura will find a lot to like.
  • Like a bit of melody in your death metal: “Torn Arteries” has more melodic sections and catchy hooks than some purely brutal death metal albums.
  • Find morbid humor appealing: If gory descriptions delivered with a tongue-in-cheek smirk don’t bother you, you’ll probably get a kick out of the lyrics.
  • Want a polished modern production: Compared to Carcass’s early days, the sound on “Torn Arteries” is crisp and powerful.

You might want to pass this one if you…

  • Are sensitive to gore and extreme themes: Carcass’ lyrics are not for the faint of heart, filled with graphic descriptions of bodily decay and medical procedures.
  • Dislike harsh vocals: Jeff Walker’s vocals are aggressive and throaty. If you don’t typically enjoy death metal vocal styles, this might not be enjoyable for you.
  • Prefer purely brutal death metal: “Torn Arteries” has some slower and more melodic moments that might not satisfy listeners who want unrelenting brutality.
  • Want long, progressive songs: While technical, most tracks on “Torn Arteries” are fairly straightforward in structure compared to some progressive death metal acts.
  • Are looking for deep social commentary: While some tracks touch on social ideas, the focus is mainly on death, gore,and the grotesque.

Release Date

September 17, 2021